ETIAS- Way to go to Europe

From January 1, 2021, it will be a lot easier to visit countries included in the Schengen area zone. The European Travel Information and Authorization System, in short ETIAS, is very much similar to the visa waiver program.  You can check more about it on its official website

ETIAS allows citizens of 61 countries to apply for ETIAS visa waiver to visit the Schengen area. Schengen Zone includes 26 countries where the majority of the countries come under European Union countries. Countries like Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein are also included in the Schengen area.

The full online system is brought into practice because of the increasing migrant influx, security issues and issues related to terrorism. It will stop illegal people from other places to come to European countries.

Initially, the European Council proposed the idea in June 2017 but the agreement was confirmed between Council Presidency and the European Parliament representatives to create ETIAS on 25 May 2018.

List of the countries which can apply for ETIAS:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela


The people who don’t belong to these countries can’t apply for ETIAS; they have to apply for a traditional visa. This visa waiver program is completely online and allows only short business trips or some medical treatment going on. It is valid for 90 days within the 180 days.

List of countries which come under Schengen Zone:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • France
  • Spain
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Denmark
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Estonia
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Hungary
  • Slovenia
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Czech Republic
  • Malta
  • Liechtenstein
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Switzerland

There are a total of 26 countries which has eliminated border controls from their borders to provide hassle-free and visa-free travel to people.

The process of applying and getting approved is super easy. The process of approval takes up to four minutes however, sometimes it can take up to four working days to get the approval. ETIAS will put an end to all illegal immigration activities and increase the security of the border.

The eligibility for ETIAS is that you have to have a valid passport and completed the application form of ETIAS and got the approval.