Last updated: 17th August 2010.

Malaysia Visa Extension

If you want to stay in Malaysia for a period of more than 3 months, the simplest, and cheapest, option is to do a visa run. Make sure you have 6 months validity on your passport, exit the country at the nearest land crossing or buy a flight to a neighbouring country. Upon your return to Malaysia you will be granted entry, visa-free, for an additional 90 days.

Overstaying a Malaysian Visa

Immigration authorities in Malaysia routinely detain foreign citizens who overstay their visa. Depending upon the level of the infringement, the detention can last from a few hours to several months whilst you wait for a formal hearing. The fine for overstaying a Malaysian visa is RM30 (6.13 GBP / 9.32 USD) per day and you may be prohibited from re-entry. The prohibition lasts for 2 days for every day that you have overstayed your Malaysian visa.

Departure Tax

Malaysian departure tax, is included in the price of your airline ticket, there should be no additional charges to pay when you arrive at the airport.

Malaysia Visa Arrangements

Malaysia has visa agreements with most foreign countries and this makes arranging travel in Malaysia very easy. UK, Irish, Australian and US nationals can all visit Malaysia for both tourism and business, visa-free, for a period of up to 3 months.

Malaysia Entry Requirements:

  • International passport that is valid for at least 6 months.
  • Malaysia does not recognise dual nationality, technically you could be turned away if you are holding 2 passports; under these circumstances, it is advisable to present the passport that you used in your last country of departure.

Order a Visa Through Agent

In the past, when I have had to order multiple visas or had to apply with complicated support documentation, (Russia), I have often employed the services of a dedicated agency. I have found that the extra cost is offset by the price of a train ticket to London, a couple of days of frantic roaming and hours of waiting in queues. I recently ordered my Russian, Mongolian and Chinese multiple entry visas through an agency and had them all back in my possession in about 14 days. It’s even easier than postal applications, you only have to send your passport once and they do the legwork, this is a lot faster and safer than sending your passport through the post multiple times to each embassy, by recorded delivery from home.

At present Visa HQ can arrange visas and support documentation for most nationalities and destinations worldwide.

Nationals Granted 3 Months Visa-Free:

Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kirgystan, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon, Lienchestien, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherland, Norway, Oman, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Romania, St Marino, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Yemen.

Nationals Granted 1 Month Visa Free:

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Barbados, Belarus, Benin, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Costa Rica, Equador, El Savador, Estonia, Gabon, Georgia, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea Republic, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong SAR, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao SAR, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldova, Mauritania, Mexico, Monaco, Mongalia, Nicaragua, North Korea, North Yemen, Panama, Paraguay, Portugal, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Slovenia, Sudan, Surinam, Tajikistan, Togo, Ukraine, Upper Volta, Uzbekistan, Vatican City, Vanezuela, Zaire, Zimbabwe.

Nationals Granted 15 Days Visa Free:


Nationals Granted 14 Days Visa Free:

Iraq, Libya, Macao (Travel Permit/Portugal CI), Palestine, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Yemen, Syria.

Nationals that Require a Visa Before Arrival:

Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo Democratic Republic, Congo Republic, Cote D’ivoire, Djibouti, Equat. Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Hong Kong (C/I or D/I), India, Liberia, Mali, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Rwanda, Serbia and Montenegro, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Western Sahara.

Update: Malaysia Abolishes Visa on Arrival

Please be advised that on August 16th 2010, the government of Malaysia implemented the complete abolition of Visa on Arrival services. This will affect nationals from the Indian Sub-Continent, (including India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan and Afghanistan). Other affected countries include China, Myanmar, Taiwan and the Comoros. This mean will mean that, every person requiring a visa to enter Malaysia, must now apply at a Malaysian Embassy or Consulate prior to arrival. The abolition of Visa on Arrival does not affect countries with visa free arrangements.

Useful links